Deutsch

the project

For the relaunch of the mobile site for smartphones of welt.de, DIE WELT commissioned us to design and support the project management. The objective of the relaunch was to offer the user of the mobile news portal a more modern user experience and a clear and rapid access to the contents. The concept had to be integrated in the existing content management system and it had to incorporate the requirements for monetization.

TBO INTERACTIVE Die Welt Mobile

our task

In close cooperation with the editorial board, the product management and the design team TBO INTERACTIVE developed the concept of navigation and the information architecture of the mobile news portal and made wireframes for all overview- and article templates as well as modules.

According to the mobile context, the previously extensive main navigation in the header was replaced by a quick access to the currently most popular and latest articles in order to provide the user with a quick overview of the news. To optimally make use of the available space on mobile devices, a reading as well as a navigation mode has been put in place and the header was implemented with the navigation elements as a Pit Bar (Scroll Up Bar).

Via a newly introduced off-canvas navigation, the reader can control individual departments and subject areas. In addition, the user can, if required, reload further articles of the departments directly on the homepage before switching to the respective department page. The right off-canvas space was used for the subscription and account management of the user.

Through its clear structure and definition, the impact and the value of the content is optimized and the entire page is clearer. Also, the modules for video as well as the picture galleries are color-highlighted.

During the concept development phase DIE WELT conducted more scenario-based usability tests with selected probands based on prototypes.

about DIE WELT

DIE WELT is the premium online news portal of the WELT Group and is, with over 9.5 million unique users and 38 million visits per month (source: IVW August 2014), the most successful news portal in Germany.

Produced by the largest multimedia and digital editorial department in Germany at an highly advanced integrated newsroom, DIE WELT Online provides the reader quickly and comprehensively with the latest news and background information and offers a variety of lifestyle issues. The digital version of the daily newspaper DIE WELT is available on all devices and on all relevant social networks.

Since 2010 TBO interactive is the framework-contract agency of the Axel Springer AG.

TBO INTERACTIVE Die Welt Mobile

DIE WELT Relaunch Mobile Website

TBO INTERACTIVE Die Welt Mobile

TBO INTERACTIVE Die Welt Mobile

services

  • Conception
  • CONSULTING
  • Information Architecture
  • Project Management
  • USER EXPERIENCE DESIGN

English

Schnell, übersichtlich, mobil – das moderne Nachrichtenportal

Zum Relaunch der Mobile Website für Smartphones von welt.de beauftragte uns DIE WELT mit der Konzeption und der Unterstützung der Projektleitung. Ziel des Relaunches war es, dem mobilen Leser des Nachrichtenportals eine modernere User Experience und einen übersichtlichen und schnellen Zugang zu den Inhalten zu bieten. Das Konzept musste sich dabei in das bestehende Content-Management-System einfügen sowie die monetarisierungsrelevanten Anforderungen einbeziehen.

Die Welt Mobile - mobile Website Zeitung Verlag

Konzeption und Projektmanagement

In enger Zusammenarbeit mit der Redaktionsleitung, dem Produktmanagement und dem Design-Team entwickelte TBO INTERACTIVE das Navigationskonzept und die Informationsarchitektur des mobilen Nachrichtenportals und fertigte Wireframes für alle Übersichts- und Artikel-Templates und Module an.

Anstelle der bisher umfangreichen Hauptnavigation im Header erhält der Nutzer nun einen Zugriff auf die aktuell beliebtesten und neuesten Artikel, um sich entsprechend des mobilen Kontexts einen schnellen Nachrichtenüberblick verschaffen zu können. Um den auf mobilen Devices beschränkten Platz optimal nutzen zu können, wurde in Lese- und Navigationsmodus unterschieden und der Header mit den Navigationselementen als Pit Bar (Scroll Up Bar) umgesetzt.

Über eine neu eingeführte Off-Canvas Navigation kann der Leser einzelne Ressorts und Themengebiete ansteuern. Zusätzlich lassen sich bei Bedarf auch direkt auf der Startseite weitere Artikel zu den Ressorts nachladen bevor der Nutzer auf die jeweilige Ressort-Seite wechselt. Der rechte Off-Canvas-Bereich wurde für die Abonnement- und Kontoverwaltung des Nutzers genutzt.

Durch die klare Strukturierung und Abgrenzung der Inhalte erhalten diese eine stärkere Wirkung und Wertigkeit und geben der gesamten Seite mehr Übersichtlichkeit. Die Module für Video und Bildergalerien werden zusätzlich farblich hervorgehoben.

Anhand von Prototypen führte DIE WELT während der Konzeptentwicklung mehrere szenariogestützte Usability-Tests mit ausgewählten Testpersonen durch.

Über DIE WELT

DIE WELT Online ist das Premium-Nachrichten-Portal der WELT-Gruppe und gehört mit über 9,5 Millionen Unique Usern und 38 Millionen Visits pro Monat (Quelle: IVW August 2014) zu den erfolgreichsten Nachrichtenportalen Deutschlands.

Durch die größte multimediale Digital-Redaktion Deutschlands aus einem hochmodernen integrierten Newsroom produziert, informiert DIE WELT Online die Leser schnell und umfassend über alle Nachrichten und Hintergründe und bietet vielfältige Lifestyle-Themen. Das digitale Angebot der Tageszeitung DIE WELT ist auf allen Endgeräten und in allen relevanten sozialen Netzwerken vertreten.

TBO interactive ist seit 2010 Rahmenvertrags-Agentur der Axel-Springer AG.

TBO INTERACTIVE Die Welt Mobile

DIE WELT Relaunch Mobile Website

TBO INTERACTIVE Die Welt Mobile

TBO INTERACTIVE Die Welt Mobile

Leistungen

  • Beratung
  • INFORMATIONSARCHITEKTUR
  • KONZEPTION
  • Projektmanagement
  • USER EXPERIENCE DESIGN